DECREE-LAW NO. 26/2008

of 23 July

AMENDING THE ORGANIC LAW OF THE GOVERNMENT

The IV Constitutional Government has decided to revisit its original structure with a view to enhancing the links and the collaborative work with the National Parliament.

Thus, the powers of the Deputy Prime Minister are reviewed with regard to the area of parliamentary affairs, which is assigned henceforth to a new Secretary of State for Parliamentary Affairs. This new post is established with a view to advance and upgrade the exclusive institutional relations with the National Parliament.

Thus,

Pursuant to article 115(3) of the Constitution, the Government enacts the following that shall have the force of law

Article 1 Amendment to Decree-Law no. 7/2007 of 5 September

1. Article 4(1) of the aforementioned decree-law is amended as follows:

"The Prime Minister is assisted in his work by the following Government members, who make up the Presidency of the Council of Ministers:

- a) Deputy Prime Minister
- b) Secretary of State of the Council of Ministers
- c) Secretary of State for Parliamentary Affairs
- d) Secretary of State of Youth and Sports
- e) Secretary of State of Natural Resources
- f) Secretary of State for Energy Policy
- g) Secretary of State for Professional Development and Employment
- h) Secretary of State for the Promotion of Equality."
- 2. Article 7(1)(f) is hereby repealed.

Article 2 Addendum

The following article 12-A is added to Decree-Law no. 7/2007 of 5 September and reads as follows:

"Article 12-A

Secretary of State for Parliamentary Affairs

It is incumbent upon the Secretary of State for Parliamentary Affairs, on behalf of the Government, to liaise with the National Parliament and the parliamentary factions in cooperation with the Secretariat of State of the Council of Ministers"

Article 3 Entry into force

This decree-law will enter into force on the day following its publication.
Approved by the Council of Ministers on 4 June 2008
The Prime Minister
(Kay Rala Xanana Gusmão)
Promulgated on 16 June 2008
To be published.
(José Ramos Horta)