**UNITED NATIONS** United Nations Transitional Administration in East Timor



NATIONS UNIES Administration Transitoire des Nations Unies au Timor Oriental

# UNTAET

UNTAET/NOT/2002/8 4 February 2002

## NOTIFICATION No. 2002/8

#### ON THE APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF THE TRANSITIONAL JUDICIAL SERVICE COMMISSION

The Transitional Administrator,

Pursuant to the authority given to him under United Nations Security Council Resolution 1272 (1999) of 25 October 1999, as reaffirmed in United Nations Security Council Resolution 1338 (2001) of 31 January 2001,

For the purposes of appointing members of the Transitional Judicial Service Commission as provided in Section 2 of UNTAET Regulation No. 1999/3 of 3 December 1999 on the Establishment of the Transitional Judicial Service Commission, as amended, (hereinafter, the Regulation),

Hereby notifies the following:

Pursuant to Section 2.5 of the Regulation, after consultations with relevant East Timorese interlocutors and social groups,

## MANUEL ABRANTES

## ANICETO GUTERRES LOPES

## JOSE MONTEIRO

are appointed as East Timorese members of the Transitional Judicial Service Commission;

Pursuant to Section 2.5A of the Regulation,

## PATRICK ANTHONY BURGESS

## SIPHOSAMI MALUNGA

are appointed as the International Expert members of the Transitional Judicial Service Commission;

And, pursuant to Section 2.2 of the Regulation,

#### JOSE MONTEIRO

is appointed as Chairperson of the Transitional Judicial Service Commission.

Upon appointment to the said Commission, the appointees have each sworn oaths or made solemn declarations respectively, signed copies of which have been submitted to the Transitional Administrator.

The above appointments are effective as of the date of the present Notification until 20 May 2002.

The present Notification will be published in the Official Gazette of East Timor, pursuant to UNTAET Regulation No. 1999/4 on the Establishment of the Official Gazette of EastTimor.

Dennis McNamara Deputy Special Representative of the Secretary-General

[for] Sergio Vieira de Mello Transitional Administrator and Special Representative of the Secretary-General