## **UNITED NATIONS**



NATIONS UNIES

United Nations Transitional Administration in East Timor Administration Transitoire des Nations Unies au Timor Oriental

UNTAET

UNTAET/NOT/2000/7 21 July 2000

# **NOTIFICATION**

# ON THE APPOINTMENT OF HEADS OF AGENCIES, DEPUTY HEADS OF AGENCIES, AUTHORIZING OFFICERS AND CERTIFYING OFFICERS FOR PURPOSES OF APPROPRIATING MONIES FROM THE CONSOLIDATED FUND OF EAST TIMOR

The Transitional Administrator,

Pursuant to the authority given to him under United Nations Security Council Resolution 1272 (1999) of 25 October and to UNTAET Regulation 2000/20 of 30 June 2000 *On Budget and Financial Management* and UNTAET Regulation 2000/21 of 30 June 2000 *On Appropriations (No. 1) 2000-2001,* 

For the purposes of appointing persons having the responsibilities set out in Sections 10.2, 10.5, 18.4, 20, 29.1 of UNTAET Regulation 2000/20 and Section 2.4 of UNTAET Regulation No. 2000/21 of 30 June 2000 in connection with the appropriation of monies from the Consolidated Funds of East Timor,

Hereby notifies the following:

I appoint Cabinet Members as the Head of Agency as set forth in the attached schedule.

I appoint deputy Heads of Agency as set forth in the attached schedule.

I delegate to Heads of Agencies the power to appoint deputy Heads of Agencies, Authorising Officers and Certifying Officers for their respective agencies.

I delegate to Heads of Agencies the power to delegate to deputy Heads of Agencies the power to appoint Authorising Officers and Certifying Officers for the deputy's agencies.

I delegate to Heads of Agencies and deputy Heads of Agencies the power to nominate people to act in their place during a temporary absence. The person nominated to act in the place of a substantive appointee assumes all delegated powers of the substantive appointee. Appointments of Authorising Officers and Certifying Officers made by Notification of the Transitional Administrator dated 3 July 2000 shall remain in force until varied under the authorisation provided in this Notification.

All appointments and variations under the powers granted by this notification are to be provided in writing to the Transitional Administrator, with a copy provided to the Treasury.

Appointments or variations of Authorising Officers and Certifying Officers, including those appointed to act in the place of a substantive appointee, shall include copies of specimen signatures that must be deposited with the Treasury.

## APPOINTMENT OF HEADS OF AGENCIES AND DEPUTY HEADS OF AGENCIES FOR PURPOSES OF APPROPRIATING MONIES FROM THE CONSOLIDATED FUND OF EAST TIMOR

#### AGRICULTURE

Head: Mr Mari Alkatiri Deputy Head: Mr Serge Verniau

### AVIATION

Head: Mr Joao Carrascalao Deputy Head: Mr Yogesh Saksena

## BORDER CONTROL

Head: Ms Ana Pessoa Deputy Head: Mr Ross Ballantyne

#### CENSUS AND RESEARCH

Head: Ms Ana Pessoa Deputy Head: Ms Maria Fernanda Texeira

### CENTRAL ADMINISTRATION

Head: Ms Ana Pessoa Deputy Head: To be named

#### CENTRAL FISCAL AUTHORITY

Head: Mr Michael Francino Deputy Head: Mr Ismaila Ceesay

### CENTRAL PAYMENTS OFFICE

Head: Mr Fernando De Peralto Deputy Head: To be named

#### CIVIL REGISTRAR

Head: Ms Ana Pessoa Deputy Head: Mr Peter Rimmelle

#### CIVIL SECURITY, FIRE & EMERGENCY RELIEF

Head: Mr Jean-Christian Cady Deputy Head: Mr Jamil Ahmed Khan

#### CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION & ACADEMY

Head: Ms Ana Pessoa Deputy Head: Ms Sarwar Sultana

#### COMMERCE, INDUSTRY & TOURISM

Head: Mr Mari Alkatiri Deputy Head: Mr Shuja Shah

### DISTRICT PUBLIC WORKS

Head: Mr Joao Carrascalao Deputy Head: Mr Jon Mills

### EAST TIMOR POLICE SERVICE

Head: Mr Jean-Christian Cady Deputy Head: Mr Jose Luis da Costa e Sousa

## EDUCATION, YOUTH & CULTURE

Head: Fr Filomeno Jacob Deputy Head: Mr Marcial Salvatierra

#### ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

Head: Mr Sergio Vieira de Mello Deputy Head: Mr Takeshi Kamiyama

### HEALTH

Head: Fr Filomeno Jacob Deputy Head: Mr Jim Tulloch

#### INVESTMENT INSTITUTE

Head: Mr Mari Alkatiri Deputy Head: Mr Jesudas Bell

#### JUDICIAL AFFAIRS

Head: Ms Gita Honwana Welch Deputy Head: To be named

#### LAND COMMISSION

Head: Ms Gita Honwana Welch Deputy Head: Mr Ian Gray

#### MARITIME PORT AUTHORITY

Head: Mr Joao Carrascalao Deputy Head: Mr Yogesh Saksena

### NATIONAL ARCHIVES

Head: Ms Ana Pessoa Deputy Head: Mr Silvester Sennabulya

#### NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF MAPPING & GEODESY

Head: Mr Joao Carrascalao Deputy Head: To be named

#### OFFICE OF THE TRANSITIONAL ADMINISTRATOR

Head: Mr Sergio Vieira de Mello Deputy Head: To be named

#### POLITICAL, CONSTITUTIONAL & ELECTORAL

Head: Mr Peter W. Galbraith Deputy Head: To be named

### POST OFFICE

Head: Mr Joao Carrascalao Deputy Head: Mr Yogesh Saksena

#### POWER AUTHORITY

Head: Mr Joao Carrascalao Deputy Head: Mr Filomeno de Andrade

## ROADS

Head: Mr Joao Carrascalao Deputy Head: Mr Yogesh Saksena

### SOCIAL SERVICES

Head: Fr Filomeno Jacob Deputy Head: Mr Cecilio Adorna

### **TELECOMMUNICATIONS & INTERNET**

Head: Mr Joao Carrascalao Deputy Head: Mr Yogesh Saksena

### TERRITORIAL ADMINISTRATION

Head: Ms Ana Pessoa Deputy Head: Mr Gerry Fox

## VEHICLE REGISTRATION UNIT

Head: Mr Joao Carrascalao Deputy Head: Mr Yogesh Saksena

# WATER AND SANITATION AUTHORITY

Head: Mr Joao Carrascalao Deputy Head: Mr Filomeno de Andrade