PARLIAMENT RESOLUTION No. 18/2009

of 6 May

ADOPTING FOR THE PURPOSE OF ACCESSION, THE SECOND PROTOCOL AMENDING THE AGREEMENT ON THE ORTHOGRAPHY OF THE PORTUGUESE LANGUAGE BETWEEN THE MEMBER STATES OF THE COMMUNITY OF PORTUGUESE-SPEAKING COUNTRIES (SEGUNDO PROTOCOLO MODIFICATIVO AO ACORDO ORTOGRÁFICO DA LÍNGUA PORTUGUESA ENTRE OS ESTADOS MEMBROS DA COMUNIDADE DOS PAÍSES DE LÍNGUA PORTUGUESA)

The National Parliament, acting on a proposal from the Government and pursuant to article 95(3)(f) of the Constitution, adopts for the purpose of accession, the Second Protocol Amending the Agreement on the Orthography of the Portuguese Language between the Member States of the Community of Portuguese-Speaking Countries (Segundo Protocolo Modificativo ao Acordo Ortográfico da Língua Portuguesa entre os Estados Membros da Comunidade dos Países de Língua Portuguesa).

Approved on 30 March 2009

The Acting President of the National Parliament,

Vicente da Silva Guterres

To be published.

On 29 April 2009

The President of the Republic,

José Ramos-Horta

Second Protocol Amending the Agreement on the Orthography of the Portuguese Language between the Member States of the Community of Portuguese-Speaking Countries (Segundo Protocolo Modificativo ao Acordo Ortográfico da Língua

Portuguesa entre os Estados Membros da Comunidade dos Países de Língua
Portuguesa)

The Republic of Angola, the Federative Republic of Brazil, the Republic of Cape Verde, the Republic of Guinea-Bissau, the Republic of Mozambique, the Portuguese Republic, the Democratic Republic of São Tomé and Príncipe and the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste:

Whereas the Agreement on the Orthography of the Portuguese Language between the Member States of the Community of Portuguese-Speaking Countries, which was signed in Lisbon on 16 December 1990, hasn't as yet come into force because it hasn't been ratified by all signatory parties;

Whereas since the IV Conference of Heads of State and Government of the Community of Portuguese-Speaking Countries (CPLP), which was held in Brasilia on 31 July and 1 August 2002, it was agreed that CPLP's Agreements shall come into force with the deposit of the third instrument of ratification;

Recalling that in 2002, at the IV Conference of Heads of State and Government of the Community of Portuguese-Speaking Countries, the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste acceded to CPLP, thus becoming the eighth member of the Community;

Recalling the recommendation made by the Ministers of Education of CPLP at the V Meeting of Ministers of Education, held in Fortaleza on 26 May 2004, who emphasized the fact that the Agreement on the Orthography is one of the pillars of the Community and decided to submit to the V Conference of Heads of State and Government of CPLP a proposal for the approval of the Protocol Amending the Agreement on the Orthography of the Portuguese Language which, besides allowing for the accession of Timor-Leste, defined the entry into force of the Agreement after the deposit of the instruments of ratification by three signatory countries;

DECIDE:

1. To amend article 3 of the Agreement on the Orthography of the Portuguese Language as follows:

"Article 3

The Agreement on the Orthography of the Portuguese Language shall come into force following the deposit of the third instrument of ratification with the Portuguese Republic."

2. To add the following article to the Agreement on the Orthography of the Portuguese Language:

"Article 5

The present Agreement shall be open to accession by the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste."

3. To determine that the present Amending Protocol shall come into force on the first day of the month following the date when three Member States of CPLP have deposited with

the Portuguese Republic their respective instruments or other equivalent documents that bind them to the Protocol

São Tomé, 25 July 2004

For the Government of the Republic of Angola

For the Government of the Federative Republic of Brazil

For the Government of the Republic of Cape Verde

For the Government of the Republic of Guinea-Bissau

For the Government of the Republic of Mozambique

For the Government of the Portuguese Republic

For the Government of the Democratic Republic of São Tomé and Príncipe

For the Government of the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste