PARLIAMENT RESOLUTION No. 14/2009

of 6 May

ADOPTING, FOR THE PURPOSE OF ACCESSION, THE AGREEMENT ON THE ORTHOGRAPHY OF THE PORTUGUESE LANGUAGE BETWEEN THE MEMBER STATES OF THE COMMUNITY OF PORTUGUESE-SPEAKING COUNTRIES (ACORDO ORTOGRÁFICO DA LÍNGUA PORTUGUESA ENTRE OS ESTADOS MEMBROS DA COMUNIDADE DOS PAÍSES DE LÍNGUA PORTUGUESA)

The National Parliament, acting on a proposal from the Government and pursuant to article 95(3)(f) of the Constitution, resolves the following:

Article 1

To approve, for the purpose of accession, the Agreement on the Orthography of the Portuguese Language between the Member States of the Community of Portuguese-Speaking Countries (*Acordo Ortográfico da Língua Portuguesa entre os Estados Membros da Comunidade dos Países de Língua Portuguesa*), which was signed in Lisbon on 16 December 2990 and whose Portuguese version is attached hereto.

Article 2

To include the following reserve:

"The toponym '*Timor-Leste*', being an exception to the rule provided in paragraph 2 of Base XV of the Agreement on the Orthography of the Portuguese Language, shall be spelled with its two elements separated by an hyphen, as this is the spelling that corresponds to the country's official name as enshrined in the Constitution and in use throughout the national territory."

Approved on 30 March 2009.

The Acting President of the National Parliament,

Vicente da Silva Guterres

To be published.

On 29 April 2009.

The President of the Republic,

José Ramos-Horta

[This is followed by the text of the agreement.]