DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF TIMOR-LESTE NATIONAL PARLIAMENT

EXTENSION OF THE MANDATE OF THE COMMISSION FOR RECEPTION, TRUTH AND RECONCILIATION (CAVR)

Section 162 of the Constitution of the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste recognises the continuation of the Commission for Reception, Truth and Reconciliation (CAVR), as established by UNTAET Regulation No. 2001/10, of 13 July, and as amended UNTAET Directive No. 2002/9, of 18 May, and by Law No. 7/2003, of 24 September.

The matter that is the object of the CAVR is truly complex and sensitive, either from the perspective of the immediate objective of mediating conflicts and promoting reconciliation, or from the standpoint of its reflexes within the Timorese society.

Thus, the CAVR requires extra time to complete its work and submit a strict final report on a domestic matter with such a great dimension, and the extension of its mandate for another nine months is therefore deemed sensible.

The option is the legislative technique of autonomously providing for the extension of its mandate, for in addition to being simpler, it envisages in fact a period of time additional to the one that was originally provided, rather than a change to the period of duration of its original mandate.

Pursuant to sections 92, 95.1 and 162.2 of the Constitution of the Republic, the National Parliament enacts the following, to have the force of law:

Article 1 (Extension of the Mandate of the Commission for Reception, Truth and Reconciliation)

The mandate of the Commission established by article 2 of UNTAET Regulation No. 2001/10, of 13 July, as amended by UNTAET Directive No. 2002/9, of 18 May, and by Law No. 7/2003, of 24 September, is extended until 7 July 2005, for the completion of its task, the submission of its final report, liquidation, and preparation of proper files and records, with a view to its dissolution.

ARTICLE 2 (Entry into Force and Taking Effect)

The present law shall come into force on the day subsequent to the date of its publication, taking effect as from 7 October 2004.

Approved on 9 November 2004

The Speaker of the National Parliament

[Signed] (Francisco Guterres 'Lú-OLo'

Promulgated on 27 December 2004

To be published.

The President of the Republic

[Signed] (Ray Rala Xanana Gusmão)