GOVERNMENT RESOLUTION NO. 4/2009

OF 1 APRIL

Commission to Negotiate the New PNTL/UNMIT Supplementary Agreement

Following the Agreement on restoration and maintenance of public security in Timor-Leste and on support to reform, restructuring and reconstruction of the Timor-Leste National Police (PNTL) and the then Interior Ministry, which is supplementary to the Agreement between the United Nations and the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste on the Statute of the United Nations Integrated Mission in Timor-Leste (UNMIT);

Considering the need to ensure the success of the phased transfer of responsibility from UNPOL to PNTL and following the work being undertaken to this end;

Considering also the new Supplementary Agreement under discussion, to be approved by the Council of Ministers, which provides for and guarantees the progressive transfer of the responsibility for the conduction of police operations in the Districts or in PNTL Units;

Pursuant to subparagraph c) of article 115.1 of the Constitution, the Government decides on the following:

To appoint a Commission to negotiate the new Supplementary Agreement between PNTL and UNMIT. The Commission shall be composed of the following members:

- Mr. Alcino Barris Group for Security Sector Reform and Development;
- Mrs. Ana Filipa Carvalho Group for Security Sector Reform and Development;
- Mr. Pedro Ochoa Group for Security Sector Reform and Development;

- Mrs. Isabel Ferreira Secretariat of State for Security;
- Mr. Ray Murray Secretariat of State for Security;
- Mr. Mateus Fernandes Timor-Leste National Police (PNTL);
- Mr. Cirilo José Cristóvão Office of the Prime Minister;
- Mr. Constâncio Pinto Ministry of Foreign Affairs; and
- Mr. Gordon Peake Timor-Leste Police Development Programme (TLPDP);

The present Resolution enters into force on the day immediately after its publication.

Approved by the Council of Ministers on 25 March 2009.

For publication.

The Prime Minister

Kay Rala Xanana Gusmão