## Presidential Decree no. 12/2009 of 19 April 2009

The Medal of Merit was established by Decree-Law no. 15/2009 of 18 March to acknowledge and express the State's gratitude towards civilians and military personnel, both national and international, which made significant contributions to national peace and stability.

The President of the Republic, pursuant to article 87(j) of the Constitution of the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste and article 2 of Decree-Law no. 15/2009 of 18 March, hereby decrees:

The Medal of Merit shall be awarded to the following individuals:

- 1. Mr. Alcino Pereira, athlete;
- 2. Ms. Águida Fátima Amaral, athlete;
- 3. Ms. Madre Maria Chioda, Congregation of the Canossian Sisters;
- 4. Dr. Daniel Murphy, founder of the Bairro Pité Clinic;
- 5. Major-General Michael Slater, Australian Defence Force;
- 6. Major Michael Stone, Australian Defence Force; and
- 7. Ms. Helen Todd, founder of the "Moris Rasik" organisation.

To be published.

José Ramos-Horta President of the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste

Office of the President, Farol, 19 May 2009